Tom Brady Not Named to Pro Bowl for First Time This Decade

The last time Brady was not named as one of the NFL's best QBs was 2008

Tom Brady Not Named to Pro Bowl For First Time This Decade
Tom Brady of the New England Patriots walks on the field. (Andy Lyons/Getty)
Getty Images

For the first time since 2008 when he missed the majority of the season due to a torn ACL suffered in the season opener, Tom Brady was not named to the Pro Bowl.

It’s a fair omission for the 42-year-old quarterback as, even though the New England Patriots are second in the AFC with a 11-3 record, he has not had a good year and ranks 20th in the NFL in passer rating (86.5) and 29th in completion percentage (60.1 percent) among qualified players.

Brady, who hasn’t actually played in the game, has been named to the team 14 times during his career, a record he shares with Peyton Manning, Tony Gonzalez, Bruce Matthews and Merlin Olsen.

New England did have three players named to the Pro Bowl: cornerback Stephon Gilmore, linebacker Donta Hightower and special-teamer Matthew Slater.

Instead of Brady, the Pro Bowl quarterbacks for the AFC are Patrick Mahomes, Deshaun Watson and Lamar Jackson, the three quarterbacks who have led the teams that have beaten the Patriots this season.

Jackson, who leads the league in touchdown passes (33) and ranks eighth in rushing yards (1,103), is one of 12 Baltimore Ravens who were named to the Pro Bowl, tying a league record that was set in 1973 by the Miami Dolphins.

“This honor is all about my teammates and our coaches, because without them, the success we’ve had as a team wouldn’t be possible,” Jackson said. “I’m also grateful for all the fans who continue to support us and who have helped make this season so special. Ultimately, it’s about winning, and we still have a lot of work to do before we accomplish our biggest goals.”

Other than Jackson, the Ravens who were named to the roster are: RB Mark Ingram, FB Patrick Ricard, TE Mark Andrews, T Ronnie Stanley, G Marshal Yanda, LB Matt Judon, CB Marcus Peters, CB Marlon Humphrey, S Earl Thomas, K Justin Tucker and LS Morgan Cox.

The Saints had the second-most Pro Bowl selections with seven, followed by the Chiefs with six and the Eagles with five.

The New York Giants and Dolphins were the only two NFL teams not to have a player chosen for the game.

Though no one will watch it, the Pro Bowl will take place in Orlando on January 26.

Subscribe here for our free daily newsletter.

Win the Ultimate Formula 1® Miami Grand Prix Experience

Want the F1 experience of a lifetime? Here’s your chance to win tickets to see Turn 18 Grandstand, one of Ultimate Formula 1® Miami Grand Prix’s most premier grandstands!