By Chase Hill / February 7, 2019

Facebook Now Lets You Unsend Your Messages For 10 Minutes

You can delete the sent message within 10 minutes of hitting send.

Social media apps including WhattsApp, LinkedIn, Twitter, FaceBook, Instagram, SnapChat and Periscope (Chris Ratcliffe/Bloomberg)
Social media apps including WhattsApp, LinkedIn, Twitter, FaceBook, Instagram, SnapChat and Periscope (Chris Ratcliffe/Bloomberg)

We’ve all gasped as we hit send on a Facebook message we didn’t mean to send. Now, Facebook is giving you 10 minutes of delete time to unsend the message.

According to Business Insider, the new feature is for anyone who has “accidentally sent a message to the wrong group of friends, mistyped something, or simply wanted to remove a message in a chat.”

First tested back in April last year, the new feature is now available for all users.

Facebook-owned platforms Instagram and WhatsApp have had this option for quite some time, so the long-delayed featured is welcome with open arms.

In order to delete the message, users will long press the message they want to expunge and tap “remove” from the menu at the bottom. Once you press the remove button, a new option appears to either remove the message just from your view or remove the message from one or more members of the chat group.

If you think you’re being sneaky, you’re not. Facebook alerts the users in the chat when you remove a message from the conversation. Here’s to hoping they didn’t see the message before you wiped it from existence.

Daily Brief

15 Things to Know Today, from RealClearLife

June 17, 2019 June 16, 2019 June 15, 2019