Heisman Winner Joe Burrow Leads LSU Over Clemson to Capture National Title

The Tigers (15-0) finished No. 1 in the AP Top 25 after the 42-25 victory

Joe Burrow Leads LSU Over Clemson to Capture Title
Joe Burrow, head coach Ed Oregon and Grant Delpit of the LSU Tigers. (Jamie Schwaberow/Getty)
Getty Images

Heisman winner Joe Burrow capped his Heisman-winning season at LSU by leading the Tigers to a 42-25 win over Clemson in the College Football Playoff title game in New Orleans on Monday night.

Burrow, who is likely to be the No. 1 overall pick in the upcoming NFL draft, threw five touchdown passes and ran for an additional score while leading LSU to their first national title since 2007 and fourth overall.

The senior QB’s five TD passes and 463 yards passing were the most for a BCS or CFB championship game and he also set the FBS season record for touchdowns in the win.

“This is what I wanted to do from the time I was 5 years old, was hoist this trophy. And bringing it back to Louisiana,” Burrow said before catching himself. “I guess we’re in Louisiana, but staying in Louisiana, we weren’t going to let someone come in here and steal this from us in our home state. We have a great fan base that came out and supported us. We were going to keep this thing right here.”

With the win, LSU snapped defending national champion Clemson’s 29-game winning streak and handed Clemson star quarterback Trevor Lawrence, a sophomore, the first loss of his college career.

The Tigers (14-1) had won Lawrence’s first 25 starts but were unable to get the victory after he completed just 18 for 37 passes for 234 yards with no touchdown passes or interceptions.

After going undefeated and finishing at 15-0, LSU finished No. 1 in the AP Top 25 for the third time in school history, with Clemson at No. 2 and Ohio State at No. 3.

Subscribe here for our free daily newsletter.

Win the Ultimate Formula 1® Crypto.com Miami Grand Prix Experience

Want the F1 experience of a lifetime? Here’s your chance to win tickets to see Turn 18 Grandstand, one of Ultimate Formula 1® Crypto.com Miami Grand Prix’s most premier grandstands!