New York, New Jersey and Connecticut Issue Joint COVID-19 Travel Advisory

Gov. Andrew Cuomo made the announcement on Wednesday

Governor Andrew Cuomo issued new COVID-19 travel guidelines.
Bennett Raglin/Getty Images

One day after he said he was “seriously considering” instituting a mandatory 14-day quarantine for travelers entering New York from Florida that could be extended to travelers coming from Texas, Arizona and 20 other states, New York Governor Andrew Cuomo confirmed on Wednesday that he’s teaming up with Gov. Phil Murphy of New Jersey and Gov. Ned Lamont of Connecticut for a joint travel advisory.

“All individuals traveling from states with significant community spread of COVID into NY, NJ or CT must quarantine for 14 days,” Cuomo tweeted. “This travel advisory is effective midnight tonight.”

“The virus is up and more people are getting sick and now our fear in New York is those people are going to travel to New York and they could bring the virus with them,” the governor said on MSNBC on Monday morning, referring specifically to the growing number of cases in Florida. “It’s more effective if we act as a regional collaboration and I’m talking to them about putting in regional guidelines so we don’t have people coming from these other states.”

For now, the quarantine requirement will apply to people traveling from Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Washington, Utah and Texas, but Cuomo stressed that “the states themselves can change as the infection rate changes,” adding, “And we’ll update daily what states are above that infection rate.”

Subscribe here for our free daily newsletter.


Join America's Fastest Growing Spirits Newsletter THE SPILL. Unlock all the reviews, recipes and revelry — and get 15% off award-winning La Tierra de Acre Mezcal.