Will Tom Brady Be This Season’s Most Valuable Player?

Peter King and SI staff give out awards for MVP, Rookie of the Year and the Biggest Disappointment.

Tom Brady #12 of the New England Patriots in action during the game against the Pittsburgh Steelers. (Joe Sargent/Getty Images)

Since the regular NFL season is over, it is time for the annual NFL awards from Sports Illustrated and the MMQB staff. It is a mix of traditional league awards and some MMQB originals. The 15 writers and editors cast ballots that rank players for every award. Tom Brady won Most Valuable Player. Only Brady and Carson Wentz appeared on all 15 ballots. Offensive Player of the Year goes to Todd Gurley, running back for the Los Angeles Rams, while Defensive Player of the Year goes to Calais Campbell (though Aaron Donald had the most first-place votes). Alvin Kamara appeared first or second on every ballot for the Offensive Rookie of the Year award, beating out rushing champion Kareem Hunt. Meanwhile, Masrhson Lattimore won Defense Rookie of the Year by a comfortable margin. Bills CB Tre’Davious White was the only defensive rookie to appear on all 15 ballots though. Coach of the Year clearly went to Sean McVay, but five other coaches did receive first-place votes. Most Disappointing Player went to Derek Carr, quarterback of the Oakland Raiders, and teammate Amari Cooper wasn’t too far behind.

Win the Ultimate Formula 1® Crypto.com Miami Grand Prix Experience

Want the F1 experience of a lifetime? Here’s your chance to win tickets to see Turn 18 Grandstand, one of Ultimate Formula 1® Crypto.com Miami Grand Prix’s most premier grandstands!