Literary Great Toni Morrison Will Be on a Stamp in 2023

The mail's getting literary next year

Toni Morrison
Author Toni Morrison at home.
James Keyser/Getty Images

The late Toni Morrison is one of a handful of writers from the United States to win the Nobel Prize in Literature. It’s safe to say that she’s one of the greatest writers of her generation — and her works continue to receive prestigious treatment, as the deluxe edition of her sole short story proved earlier this year.

And now, she’s being honored with a postage stamp. As Literary Hub reports, she’ll be one of several famous Americans featured on a 2023 stamp from the U.S. Postal Service. The official announcement notes that Morrison, along with Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Roy Lichtenstein and Ernest J. Gaines, will be featured on stamps next year.

“Morrison was the rare author who achieved both bestseller status and critical success,” the announcement states. “In 1993, she made history as the first African American woman to win the Nobel Prize for Literature. The stamp features a photograph of Morrison taken in 2000.” The photograph was taken by Deborah Feingold, while the stamp’s design comes from Ethel Kessler.

Morrison is one of the country’s most lauded writers, but her work remains controversial to some — earlier in the year, her novel The Bluest Eye was among the books banned by a St. Louis school district, though the ban was later rescinded.

The InsideHook Newsletter.

News, advice and insights for the most interesting person in the room.