Toyota Gazoo Wins Third Straight 24 Hours of Le Mans

Teams from Toyota Gazoo and Rebellion had excellent performances

Toyota Gazoo
The drivers celebrate.
Toyota Gazoo Racing

In 2018 and 2019, when the Toyota Gazoo Racing team competed at 24 Hours of Le Mans, they emerged victorious. With the 2020 edition of the storied racing competition coming up, a rather obvious question loomed: could they make it 3 in a row? After a physically and technically draining race, the answer proved to be yes — solidifying the team’s place in racing history.

AutoBlog’s report on the race notes that the winning team — Toyota Gazoo No.8 — featured several repeat champions. Following their team’s win, Sébastien Buemi and Kazuki Nakajima became 3-time winners. Brendon Hartley, who replaced Fernando Alonso, was the third driver on the team. It was also a repeat win for him: he had previously driven as part of the Porsche team that won in 2017.

Toyota Gazoo No.8 won the race by a total of 5 laps. Finishing second was the Rebellion No.1 team, which included drivers Gustavo Menezes and Bruno Senna — the latter being the nephew of racing legend Ayrton Senna. A little further down the standings, that pattern repeated itself: Toyota Gazoo No.7 finished third, while Rebellion No.3 finished fourth overall.

The eventual third-place finishers began the race in pole position, but an engine problem which took half an hour to resolve was a decisive factor in the event’s final standings.

Unlike previous years, when over 250,000 spectators took in the race, this year’s edition played out before empty stands — another surreal sign of 2020’s status quo.

Subscribe here for our free daily newsletter

Win the Ultimate Formula 1® Miami Grand Prix Experience

Want the F1 experience of a lifetime? Here’s your chance to win tickets to see Turn 18 Grandstand, one of Ultimate Formula 1® Miami Grand Prix’s most premier grandstands!