Wanna Make Google Forget Everything It Knows About You?
This is like incognito mode for your online past
When you watch Sugar Ray videos on YouTube or look up “What’s the best way to trim my nose hairs,” at 3 A.M., Google remembers.
And then it targets you with ads based on those searches.
It’s like the old saying goes: one man’s embarrassing unfiltered internet usage is another man’s opportunity to sell him Mark McGrath skincare products.
But thanks to the tech giant’s new My Activity page, there’s a way to make your personal profile pristine once again.
First, head to myactivity.google.com and log into your account. Once that’s done, you can sort through all of the data that Google has collected about your search activity by date, product, etc.
Once you’ve found the info you want to delete, access its menu by clicking the three dots on the right end and select “Delete.” Et voila: everything gets sent to the great trash bin in the sky. You can also erase things in bulk by deleting all data within a certain range of dates or get rid of everything at once by selecting the “All Time” option.
If you want Google to forget you entirely, opt out at myaccount.google.com/activitycontrols.
But should you go that route, don’t expect Googs to be meeting you in Montauk anytime soon.
This article was featured in the InsideHook newsletter. Sign up now.
Suggested for you